Skip to main content

NZ Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement 2018 announced

By October 10, 2018No Comments

Source : Books & Publishing

Creative New Zealand has announced the winners of the 2018 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement, worth NZ$60,000 (A$54,760) each.

Māori dramatist and fiction writer Renée has been honoured in the fiction category, critic and curator Wystan Curnow has received the award for nonfiction, and poet and publisher Michael Harlow has received the award for poetry.

NZ Arts Council chair Michael Moynahan said, ‘Each of these extraordinary storytellers has a unique perspective on New Zealand identity, and has significantly contributed to our country’s literary landscape, creating a strong legacy for New Zealand writers.’

The awards will be presented at a ceremony in Wellington on 15 October.

Established in 2003, the Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement recognise writers in fiction, nonfiction and poetry who have made ‘a significant contribution to New Zealand literature’. Nominations are assessed by an external expert panel and recommendations are then forwarded to the Arts Council of Creative New Zealand for approval. This year’s selection panel comprised Jill Rawnsley, John Huria and Murray Edmond, with chair Lauren Hughes.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.