Skip to main content

Wainwright Prize Longlist announced

By June 8, 2018No Comments

Source : Times of India

The Wainwright Prize is a UK based award for books that celebrate the outdoors. It is named for Alfred Wainwright, a British fellwalker, guidebook author and illustrator who wrote a seven-volumePictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells. It has become the standard reference work to 214 of the fells of the English Lake District.


The award is given to books “which best reflects Wainwright’s core values of Great British writing & culture and a celebration of the outdoors”. Authors from any country may submit their books but they must be related to nature, the outdoors or “travel writing (not guidebooks) covering Great Britain.”

The Longlist for the 2018 Prize was just announced on 5th June and consists of:

21st Century Yokel by Tom Cox

Hidden Nature by Alys Fowler

Outskirts by John Grindrod

Islander by Patrick Barkham

The Secret Life of Cows by Rosamund Young

Owl Sense by Miriam Darlington

The Dun Cow Rib
 by John Lister-Kaye

The Last Wilderness by Neil Ansell

The Salt Path by Raynor Winn

The Seabird’s Cry
 by Adam Nicolson

The Wood by John Lewis-Stempel

A Wood of One’s Own by Ruth Pavey
The Lost Words by Robert Macfarlane and Jackie Morris
The winner gets a £5,000 prize fund . Last year’s winner was Where Poppies Blow by John Lewis Stempel, a book about the British soldiers who fought in the first world war and their relationship with the flora and fauna of their homeland and the battlefield.
The prize shortlist will be announced on 5th July.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.