Skip to main content

Novelist Deshmukh elected as President of Marathi literary meet

By December 15, 2017No Comments

Source : Times of India

NAGPUR: After much anticipation and wait, the results for the president of the 91st Akhil Bharatiya Marathi Sahitya Sammelan were declared on Sunday afternoon. The sammelan is the annual coveted conference in Marathi literature, slated to be held in Baroda from February 16 to 18. Pune-based veteran novelist and story writer Laxmikant Deshmukh emerged as the winner after a counting of all the votes. Deshmukh won over Dr Ravindra Shobhane, who lost by a margin of 70 votes, informed election officer Makarand Agnihotri.

A total of 434 votes were required for a contestant to win the elections, but none of them received that many votes even after four rounds. As a result, Deshmukh, who had garnered the highest votes, was declared as the President of the literary conference at Vidarbha Sahitya Sangh‘s office in Sitabuldi. In the first round of counting of votes, Deshmukh received 381 votes, followed by Shobhane at 299 votes, Rajan Khan at 104 votes, Kishor Sanap at 42 votes and Ravindra Gurjar at 41 votes.

As the desired quota of votes were not gained by any contestant, three more rounds of counting of votes were carried by the Mahamandal. In the fourth and final round, Deshmukh stood at 427 votes, followed by Shobhane at 357 votes. Khan gained a total of 123 votes, Sanap got 47 votes, and Gurjar stayed at 42 votes. The letter of appointment was given to Deshmukh’s representative advocate Pramod Adkar, by Agnihotri. President of Mahamandal Shripad Joshi conveyed his best wishes to Deshmukh over phone. On behalf of the Mahamandal, President Milind Joshi of Maharashtra Sahitya Parishad, Pune, will now be visiting Deshmukh’s residence there to felicitate him with shawl and flowers.

Deshmukh was elected as the president of the conference over a total of 896 votes, which were accepted by the mandal until December 9, 5pm. Of all the votes, 29 were declared as invalid. Those wanting to be a representative at the conference can collect refer to rules and fill the form at Vidarbha Sahitya Sangh, Sitabuldi. The last date for registration is December 20.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.