Skip to main content

Meena Kandasamy makes it to 2018 Dylan Thomas Prize longlist

By February 5, 2018No Comments

Source : Times of India

Indian essayist and novelist Meena Kandasamy‘s bookWhen I Hit You makes it to the 2018 Dylan Thomas Prize.
When I Hit You: Or, A Portrait of the Writer as a Young Wifeby Kandasamy is a raw depiction of domestic abuse that leads to a “meditation on writing and a searing examination of a woman’s place in contemporary Indian society”, writes The Guardian.


The Dylan Thomas Prize is a leading prize for young writers presented annually. The prize, named in honour of the Welsh writer and poet Dylan Thomas, brings international prestige and a remuneration of £30,000.

The list of the 12 titles of The International Dylan Thomas Prize 2018 has been announced. It was started in 2006 and named after writer Dylan Thomas in partnership with Swansea University, UK. The prize is given for outstanding literary work in English to an author of age 39 or below.

Last year, Australian writer Fiona McFarlane won the prize for her short story collection The High Places .

The 12 books that are included in the list have eight novels, two short story collections, and two volumes of poetry. Here is the list:

Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀, Stay With Me (Canongate Books)

Kayo Chingonyi, Kumukanda (Vintage – Chatto & Windus)

Meena Kandasamy, When I Hit You (Atlantic Books)

Lisa McInerney, The Blood Miracles (John Murray)

Carmen Maria Machado, Her Body and Other Parties 
(Graywolf Press)

Fiona Mozley, Elmet (JM Originals)

Gwendoline Riley, First Love (Granta)

Sally Rooney, Conversations With Friends (Faber & Faber)

Emily Ruskovich, Idaho (Vintage – Chatto & Windus)

Gabriel Tallent, My Absolute Darling (Riverhead Books)
Eley Williams, Attrib. and Other Stories (Influx Press)
James Womack, On Trust: A Book of Lies (Carcanet Press)

The shortlist including the six finalists will be revealed in the end of March and the winner will be announced on May 10.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.