Skip to main content

Arundhati Roy’s ‘My Seditious Heart’ released in June

By June 27, 2019No Comments

Source : Times of India

A compilation of previously published essays written by celebrated author Arundhati Roy released in June, announced publisher Penguin recently.

The book titled My Seditious Heart collects the entire works spanning over a period of 20 years since the author first decided to devote herself to the political essay as a way of “opening up space for justice, rights and freedoms in an increasingly hostile environment.”

Roy is best known for her debut novel The God of Small Things which won the prestigious Man Booker Prize in 1997. It’s noted that her second fiction book The Ministry of Utmost Happiness was released after two decades in 2017. Meanwhile, Roy has also written several non-fiction books including The End of Imagination, The Algebra of Infinite Justice, Listening to Grasshoppers, Broken Republic and The Doctor and The Saint.

Talking about the essays in My Seditious Heart, the publisher said in a statement, “Radical and readable, they speak always in defence of the collective, of the individual and of the land, in the face of the destructive logic of financial, social, religious, military and governmental elites,”

When taken together these essays trace Roy’s journey from her first book to her last The Ministry of Utmost Happiness – a journey marked by compassion, clarity and courage, it added, reported PTI.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.